Sexual Harassment // Summer Beauty Tips and Tricks

Hey guys, as promised, this blog post was chosen by you! On my last post, I asked what you guys wanted to read next and, overwhelmingly, the answer was “Summer Makeup Tips and Tricks”. Honestly, I should have seen that coming… But, I’ve renamed our blog post to Summer “Beauty” Tips and Tricks because I came up with some ideas that might help you ladies (and fellas) out which are not necessarily makeup related.

REGARDLESS, I wanted to start this post with something I find incredibly important. If you don’t want to read it, scroll down (a lot) to skip right into my tips and tricks.

giphy (8)

So– I used to work at a place where I didn’t quite feel like my upper management gave much of a shit about how I felt or was treated in the workplace. And by that, I mean, I once literally asked for a behind-shut-doors conversation with the store manager and told him I felt like a sexual harassment conversation needed to be had during the next couple employee meetings.  Why?

  • I had heard, from one of my male work friends, that there was a lot of “locker room” talk going on about me and one of my work, female friends, in the back room. I don’t want to get too graphic, but just imagine bunch of 16-19 year old boys talking about what they’d “like to do to you” if they had the chance.
  • I constantly got hugs from guys, and I really don’t want them. I’m not anti-hug, but I’m not about random, overly frequent hugs for no reason. My question is: why do you need to be that close to me all of the time? I can only imagine.
  • I hate to admit it, but one guy even walked up to me and said that he liked “looking at my ass because it [was] great”. I mean, cringe.

You want to know my beef? Why my meeting with my store manager went so horribly? Why I had so many problems with that place?

Well, I told all of these things to my manager, saying that I’d rather not name specific people because it was a bigger problem than any one or two people. You know what he said to me?

  • “Well, I think your anxiety makes you see things that don’t really exist”, aaaaand
  • You ask for it, you’re too nice to the boys. I don’t want to sweep it under the rug, but I think you may just be reading into things”.

giphy (9)

OH MY GOD. Fuck you. Mind you, my store manager was a male, with a teenage daughter. I wonder how he would feel if his daughter came up to him and told him the same story I just described. I bet he’d be IRATE with that store manager. And he should be. You know why? Because it isn’t fucking funny. In fact, I can’t think of many things much more serious than the objectification and disregard for the female body and security in the work place. This was 100% unacceptable. And I realize that now. But, at the time, I just knew that I thought these guys were my friends and just needed a reminder that that kind of talk was NOT okay. I blamed lack of knowledge on work acceptable conversation and teenage male adolescence. I also didn’t want to start any unnecessary drama because this place was by no means good at discretely bringing up problems: I knew 110% that those guys would know I “narked” and I didn’t want that. This place was small, I needed as many friends and favors as I could get.

So, I walked out of the office with absolutely nothing accomplished and feeling like there was nothing I could do and that I did not have the support of my upper management. And there is literally nothing worse than knowing that for the rest of your employment you’re going to be subjected to “casual” sexual harassment and that there is absolutely nothing you can do about it. Talk about helpless and embarrassed. I learned my lesson the second I walked about of that office.

Ladies, if you’re uncomfortable, make as much noise as you need to. People may look at you weirdly for a moment, but once they put themselves in your shoes, they will understand. You do not need to live with this uncomfortable-ness. You are worth more than that. You deserve better than that. You shouldn’t have to work, let alone LIVE, in a world that makes you feel uncomfortable. If work does’t seem to care, somebody will. Please, for the love of god, SPEAK UP. Somebody will understand. Somebody will care. Somebody will help you. I promise.

giphy (10).gif

By now I’m sure you’re thinking, “Well, that’s a great story/PSA, Cat. But, what the heck? This has nothing to do with summer beauty”. The answer is pretty simple. I was on my way to Walgreens this afternoon to refill my anxiety prescription and pick up some new drug store, summer friendly, makeup when I was catcalled twice in less than a walkable mile.

Dear god. The first time was in the parking lot of  store a literally live across the street from. Some guy in an adjacent apartment complex kept screaming at me in a super awkward tone: “Oh yeah, oh yeah”! Like… gross. Please kill me. This is the last kind of attention I wanted to draw. The second catcall came when I was crossing the highway (Clairemont, for my homies). I was just walking, drinking my Starbuck’s s’mores frappuccino when some dude leaned out his window and kept whistling at me, “Hit me up, babe”!smores

This shit is just NOT okay, ever. To anyone. And I don’t want guys to assume I think they’re all pigs, because that is 100% not the case, and I’m well aware of that. In fact, a lot of the time, I take a male friend with me when I’m going anywhere because they seem to curb all of the unwanted sexual attention. Should I need a male body guard? Hell no. Do I really need one? Who knows–thus far I’ve been fine on my own, but god knows there have been times I’ve been seriously scared for my safety on my own. But I want you guys who think it’s cute to catcall or harass women to know, we will mess up your day. We have no patience for this inappropriate crap and many of us aren’t as “helpless” as we may look. Many of us are well trained on what to do in uncomfortable situations.

The point I’m trying to make here is that it is never acceptable for anybody to make anyone else feel like this: we don’t enjoy your catcalls, we don’t find it flattering that your following us, we don’t think it’s charming or cute when you inappropriately touch or comment on our bodies. It makes us uncomfortable, we may feel afraid. It stops some of us from living normal lives, wearing comfortable clothing, going on walks alone in the daylight (let alone at night). Simply: it needs to stop. You worry about you, I’ll worry about me. And with that, I introduce you to the first of my summer beauty tips.

Summer Beauty Tips and Tricks

  • Girl, you do you. Slay all day, and let nobody stop you. But be safe, be prepared.

    Not only in summer, but all year long. Be alert and help your fellow women when you can. If you’re not sure how to stay safe, try Googling “safety tips for women” or “what to do in the case of sexual harassment”. I’m including here a link to an article titled “How to live alone as a woman” and another titled “10 Ways for women to stay safe when traveling alone“.
    giphy (11)

  • Drink water, use sunscreen, buy decent glasses.

    Drinking water is the easiest way to keep your skin looking fresh because moisturized skin is your best skin. Trust me when I tell you you’re not using enough sunscreen. Sunscreen should definitely always be in your summer bag so you can reapply it as frequently as the packaging says you should (1 layer isn’t going to last all day, pal). But sun screen should also make an appearance on cloudy days if you’re going to be outside for an extended period of time because UV rays from the sun are still going to get to your skin. This is why you really should be using a sunless tanner and NEVER getting in a tanning bed–dear god, help me. UV ray exposure is also why you invest in decent sun glasses. Cheap ones may have the penny-pincher appeal, but when they’re doing nothing to stop the UV rays from getting to your eyes and skin, is it really doing anything? (Actually, the answer is probably yes, because even cheap glasses should keep you from squinting and tempting crows feet and fine lines around your eyes, but still). Click here to read why UV rays are so bad for your skin.

giphy

  • Put your sunscreen in your favorite foundation or invest in a BB cream.

    Your face is going to need protection too, and this is a great way to help solve that problem without costing you extra money and time color matching your foundation. Mix, in equal parts, your favorite foundation and your current sunscreen together either on a clean palette or the back of your hand, apply it as you normally would.
    The other option is to buy a lightweight (and light to medium coverage) BB (beauty balm) cream. Many time these BB creams will come with some kind of SPF already added into the formula for you. My current drugstore favorite is Maybelline’s Dream Fresh BB Cream.

  • Always moisturize.

    It may seem counterproductive to moisturize your skin when you know you’re going to be sweating all day, but adding a little bit of your day oil/cream to your face is going to do wonders for your skin. As you wash your face you’re also stripping your skin of its natural oils which are what keep it healthy. As a result, your skin will begin to produce large amount of extra sebum to try and compensate for the fact that your face is so dry. This can result in greasy looking skin, clogged pores, and acne. Moisturizing your face adds back the necessary moisture and keeps sebum production at a low.

    Bonus tip: brush a THIN layer of powder over your moisturizer to help keep the rest of your makeup from looking cakey throughout the day.

  • When it comes to makeup, less is more.

    Your skin is already dealing with so much once you factor in the sun, sweat, moisturizer, and sunscreen. This is why I highly recommend using a BB cream rather than a foundation. It’s also useful to apply all of your makeup in thin layers and only put foundation on your t-zone (or the front of your face). Honestly, your face is going to be tanner and that added color is already going to hide whatever imperfections you have so well that you wont need a heavy foundation. Facial self tanners are their own thing and are offered by many companies, so research what will work best for your skin type and color. When it comes to the eyes, I’ve heard (but never personally tried) that the Maybelline Color Tattoo Concentrated Crayon eyeshadows will last you all day, even in unbearable heat.

    Bonus tip #2: Waterproof mascara is going to be your best friend over the summer. You can use it to ensure your mascara doesn’t slide down your face due to sweat, but you can also use it (if you have darker hair) to fill in your eyebrows! Also, for perfect, summer-proof eyeliner, use liquid or gel formulas rather than wax pencils (which are easily sweated off).

maybelline color tattoo pencil

  • Powder products are your friend.

    While many of the currently trending makeup products are a cream or liquid base, these things are 100% certain to start slipping and sliding at some point during a hot, summer day. Powders really are key as they help to absorb excess oils and can easily be reapplied without the help of a mirror, mind you, to soak up the sweat and oil that threaten your makeup look throughout the day. Set everything you use with powder, even your cream and liquid formulas, doing so will help the watery formulas sink into your skin and stop them from rubbing or falling off. My current favorites are the Rimmel London Stay Matte pressed powder in 001 Translucent (it literally adds zero color to your face, meaning it wont mess with your makeup) and the Coty Airspun loose setting powder in Translucent Extra Coverage (can be used to either set foundation or used on its own as a foundation!). Both of these work wonders for holding your makeup in place.

  • Summer-proof pouts

    Dear god, do I love a good lippie look. Unfortunately, summer is not the ideal time for the majority of my favorite formulas. However, we don’t have to go all summer with naked lips (although nudes have been hot AF lately…). While drying, liquid lipsticks, when paired with lipliners to help stop color bleeds and runs, are much more transfer proof than most traditional lipsticks or glosses and lacquers. For a nude lipliner, I’ve been using the Model Co Lip Enhancer in Illusion Lip Liner. I switch between my two favorite, long wearing liquid lips depending on the day and the makeup look: either Jeffree Star Cosmetic’s Velour Liquid Lipstick in the shade Celebrity Skin or, for a more affordable option, NYX’s Lingerie Liquid Lipstick in 02 Embellishment. SO much love for these colors and formulas.
    Another great option is to just go in with your favorite, colored lip balm or gloss–reapply as needed!

giphy (1).gif

  • Lock it all in

    Regardless of how much (or how little) makeup you put on, it’s crucial to set it if you don’t want to going anywhere. And that applies to everyday, not just uber hot ones. Many brands have created setting sprays or priming and setting spray duos. These things get misted onto your face and lock those pigments in for the long run. They’re also super helpful in taking down some of the powdery look some makeup leaves behind. Thing of setting sprays as hairsprays for your face, except good for you skin! You can get them in a variety of formulas, each which claims to have different purposes: but they all have holding your makeup in place as their number 1 priority. I’m totally in love with Wet ‘N Wild’s Photofocus Setting Spray, it works and it’s fucking cheap. I love good drugstore finds!

  • You may be feeling like a hot mess, but your skin and hair don’t need to look like it

    If you haven’t experienced the magic that is dry shampoo, you’re about to have your life changed forever. Dry shampoo is exactly what it sounds like: dry shampoo. It’s basically an aerosolized powder which, when applied to the roots of your hair, clings to grease and is then brushed or shook out, leaving your hair looking clean, smelling great, and adding volume. Keep a couple full sized bottles at home, but also buy a travel sized one for your bag for on the go hair fixes. Jeremy and I have been religiously using Dove’s Refresh + Care, Volume & Fullness dry shampoo. Just spray onto your roots, rub it in, towards your scalp, and brush it out.
    Bonus tip #3: If you can’t run to the store and pick some dry shampoo up, baby powder also works. This is ideal for lighter hair colors as they are less likely to show any powder that may have not gotten brushed out, but I’ve heard that adding cocoa powder to the baby powder helps with that problem for darker haired people. Plus, it smells great either way!
    Finally, it’s about inevitable that your face is either going to start collecting sweat or grease at some point throughout the day. A great way to help clean this mess up without fucking up your makeup is to use blotting sheets. These are sheets made of a plastic feeling material that absorbs oils from your skin without picking up your makeup as well. Just dap it on the parts of your face that are starting to shine and you’ll instantly see an improvement! There are many ways to DIY blotting sheets, so these don’t necessarily need to be something you save up for. As weird as it sounds, toilet seat covers work as blotting papers as well as that paper you use to wrap fish up in. I don’t know, look it up, see what works for you.

giphy (2).gif

And, that’s all I’ve got for you.

Whew, sorry not sorry that that took so long to bust through, guys. But you literally asked for it! I hope that you found at least an idea or two that might help you out this summer. If you know of any useful summer beauty tips, leave a comment! I gotta stop being lazy and explain my love for Dove’s Sheer Fresh Invisible Dry Spray Antiperspirant to you guys one of these days: literally the best, clothes friendly deodorant there ever was, I’m convinced. Anyhow, thank you for having so much patients with me over the last couple weeks. I full explanation is in the works for this weekend, so, stay tuned!

-Lots of love,
Catlin

Leave a Reply

